As a resident of Colorado, the is your duty to obey all state laws. You must likewise stay up-to-date top top city laws and also mandates. This contains Colorado’s curfew laws, and any momentary curfews enacted by the market of your city. Breaking a curfew could influence a an individual injury claim, such together a auto accident instance in Colorado, by place liability with the party in the wrong.

You are watching: Colorado curfew for 16 year olds


What Is the Colorado Curfew Law?

The main curfew in Colorado is the statewide curfew law for teenager drivers. This legislation only uses to chauffeurs who are under the age of two decades old. It claims that when a teenager it s okay his or her driver’s license, because that the an initial year, the teen have to abide through a curfew that limits the lawful hrs he or she may drive. A teen legally cannot run a motor car between 12:00 a.m. And also 5:00 a.m. Because that one year after receiving his or her license.

There room some exceptions to this rule, consisting of if:

The teen driver is accompanied by a parent, legitimate guardian or driving instructor.The driver is attach by an adult 21 or older that has had actually a valid driver’s patent for at least one year.The teen needs to drive throughout these hours because of a clinical emergency.The teen has to drive to school, a school-related activity or come work. (A signed statement indigenous the school or employer is required.)The driver is one emancipated minor.

The objective of the teenager driving curfew legislation is to mitigate the danger of teenager driving accidents. Driving late at night increases the odds of details accident risks, such together driving under the influence of medicine or alcohol and also drowsy driving. It is also more dangerous to drive at night because of environmental factors, such together more an obstacle seeing and also glares native headlights.

Breaking the teenager driving curfew in Colorado is a traffic infraction that can lead to penalty such together a fine of up to $50, 2 points on the teen driver’s license and also 8 come 24 hours of mandatory ar service. A 2nd violation increases the penalty to a well of as much as $150 and 16 come 40 hours of ar service.

Other Curfews in Colorado

In Colorado, municipalities have actually the legal authority to spreading curfew legislations in cases that might threaten publicly safety. For example, because of public unrest linked to the homicide of George Floyd, the mayor of Colorado Springs enacted a curfew native June 3, 2020 to June 8, 2020. Then, in November, the market of Denver ordered a curfew because that city citizens of 10:00 p.m. Indigenous November 8, 2020 come December 7, 2020 to assist curb the spread out of the COVID-19 virus.

How could a Curfew Law impact a auto Accident Claim?

If a teenager driver or someone rather is break a state or municipal curfew regulation at the moment that a vehicle accident occurs, he or she might bear liability for the collision. Breaking a curfew might play a factor in a car accident situation if driving so late at night brought about or contributed to the crash.

For example, if over there is proof that a teenager dropped asleep behind the wheel while break curfew and also driving in ~ 2:00 a.m., the injured party could use the damaged curfew as evidence of the teenager driver’s negligence. In vehicle accident law, negligence describes any action or omission by a driver that an ordinarily prudent human being would not have actually committed in the exact same circumstances.

See more: How Much Weight Can A Pitbull Pull Ing, How Much Weight Can A Pitbull Pull

If you obtain into a vehicle accident in Colorado and also the various other driver is someone that is breaking curfew, that or she may be financially responsible for your injuries and also related losses. Call a an individual injury attorney in Denver to discuss your case right away. An attorney can help you conference evidence against the other driver, including evidence of a damaged curfew and/or negligence, and fight for fair jae won compensation on her behalf.