Hershey’s Oat Made heat of chocolate bars has been spotted in phibìc Carolina. Is the candy giant getting ready come launch its an initial vegan cacao bar?

byAnna Starostinetskaya

September 3, 2021


The Hershey Company’s an initial vegan coco bars will certainly be made v a basic of oat milk. The new line that Hershey’s Oat make bars will certainly come in seasonings such as standard Dark and also Extra Creamy Almond & Sea Salt with each oat milk-based bar plainly labeled vegan. Currently, the bars space only accessible at spirit Miner’s Garden, a vegetable food truck in Charlotte, north Carolina that had the ability to get very early batch after a happy accident.

You are watching: Is hershey's vegetarian

*

“We actually all of sudden stumbled across these top top the shelf in ~ a big-box store below in Charlotte,” soul Miner’s Garden Owner Sasha Quinn said gaianation.net. “They had no sign on the shelf however rang up usually at the it is registered so us bought them.” Customers deserve to order indigenous the truck—which offer vegan lull food such together nachos, Reuben sandwiches, and also burritos—and add on a vegetables Hershey’s chocolate bar for dessert.

The Oat Made heat is component of a real-time marketing test Hershey’s is conducting and the brand-new vegan cacao bars will be accessible at very restricted retailers, including choose Target locations, nationwide beginning this month and through June 2022, a Hershey’s spokesperson confirmed with gaianation.net.

*

Hershey’s first vegan coco bar

In February, Hershey’s announced that it is working on broadening its “better because that you” (BFY) options, consisting of plant-based alternatives. The brand is at this time working on a permanent strategy to broaden this classification which has innovation toward the BYF group of present products, research and development of new products, license agreements come co-create products, and acquisition of brand that provide BYF options.

Hershey’s an initial vegan cacao bar is a welcome enhancement to the BFY category and also its an essential ingredient, oat milk, is a much better option 보다 dairy in terms of human, animal, and also planetary health. “We room the leader in united state confection, and our consumers count on united state to understand their needs for daily moments, seasons and also special occasions, providing high-quality and an excellent tasting candy that’s easily accessible for everyone,” Kristen Riggs, Chief development Officer in ~ Hershey, said. “Expanding ours expertise, building new capabilities, and also delivering more choices in better-for-you confection is the next huge category possibility for united state to lead.”

*

Are vegan KitKats comes to the US?

Outside of the US, KitKat is produced by Nestlé and also a vegan variation of the iconic candy bar began making its means to store shelves previously this year. Make from a mix of vegan chocolate and also vegan wafer fingers, the brand-new KitKat V was created by Nestlé’s research study and breakthrough team in York, united Kingdom—where the initial KitKat was an initial introduced in 1935. Among the first people to shot the brand-new vegan KitKat bar was plant-based celebrity Kim Kardashian, who obtained a personalized box of vegetables “KimKat” bars in June. The KitKat V bars at first launched in the joined Kingdom, complied with by Estonia, Poland, Latvia, Lithuania, Brazil, and also other regions—but no the US, unfortunately.

See more: Is The Taking Of Pelham 123 Based On A True Story ? Is The Taking Of Pelham 123 Based On A Real Story

In the US, the KitKat brand is licensed and manufactured by Hershey’s and also the company does no have any information about a united state launch that vegan-friendly KitKat bar, the spokesperson said.