Jane Anderson is a clinical journalist and also an experienced in celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and the gluten-free diet. " data-inline-tooltip="true">Jane Anderson
*

Jane Anderson is a medical journalist and also an experienced in celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and also the gluten-free diet. 


Adah Chung is a fact checker, writer, researcher, and also occupational therapist.

You are watching: Jose cuervo tequila gluten-free

 

" data-inline-tooltip="true">Adah Chung
*

*

Tequila the is do in the timeless way—entirely indigenous the blue agave plant—is normally gluten free. However, some cheaper brand of tequila are considered "mixto," definition they are not totally made indigenous the blue agave plant. As a result, they might save on computer gluten.


Here's a perform of tequilas that are made in the timeless fashion from 100% blue agave, which method that they are gluten free:

Agavales GoldCalle 23Casa Noble AnejoCasa Noble CrystalCentenario PlataDon Julio BlancoDon Sergio (1942, Resposado, and also Blanco arrays only)El Destilador BlancoEl JimadorEspolonFortaleza BlancaHornitos black BarrellJose Cuervo (Tradicional, Tradicional Silver, Platino, and Reserva de la Familia varieties)Legado BlancoLunazul ReposadoMilagroOlmeca Altos Plata Siete LeguasSuerte Tequila BlancoTequila TapatioZapopan

The Basics that Tequila-Making

The blue agave plant is a high-sugar plant, and also all the sugar goes into making traditional tequila. ~ above the various other hand, when "mixto" tequila obtains at the very least 51% of its street from the blue agave, it can acquire the various other 49% from various other sources of fructose and also glucose.


Whenever there are other sources involved, gluten have the right to sometimes enter the picture—for example, wheat have the right to be provided to develop glucose syrup. That said, it's unlikely the a tequila manufacturer would usage a gluten ingredient in this process. However, if you want to exercise an abundance of caution, stick v traditional, 100% blue agave tequila. It's an ext expensive, yet it's much better to it is in safe 보다 sorry.


Mixto tequilas won't be labeled "mixto,"—they'll just say "tequila." There space many an ext mixto tequila brands on the shelves than there room 100% blue agave tequila brands. Remember, a tequila that's make from 100% agave will certainly advertise that reality prominently. Look because that those the do.


space Tequila Mixers Gluten Free?

There space a selection of ways you have the right to drink tequila, varying from directly shots (the salt and also the lime wedges room gluten free, but you"ll need to obtain gluten-free beer for the chaser) come margaritas. Tequila connoisseurs drink that neat and also choose just 100% agave tequilas.


If you drink margaritas, it deserve to be a little trickier to ensure that your drink is gluten free. It's usual to use a cheaper, mixto tequila in mixed drinks prefer margaritas. That way the an initial thing you'll should do is make sure the tequila provided in your drink is 100% agave.


Traditional margaritas covers tequila, triple sec, and also lime or lemon juice. Triple sec liqueur is distilled from orange peels, and the famous name brands grand Marnier and also Cointreau are gluten free. You also can usage non-alcoholic triple sec syrup (Monin triple sec syrup is labeled gluten free).


When you get into margarita mixes and also flavored margarita drinks, it deserve to be even harder to guarantee a gluten-free beverage. There room dozens of possible ingredients varying from pineapple and coconut come beets and also hot sauce. Therefore, you'll must double-check each ingredient to be particular that your margarita is safe to drink.


Frozen margaritas are even an ext problematic because they deserve to be make from a mix with mixto tequila added.


It's quite fashionable to have signature margaritas where every bar supplies a various recipe. Uneven you discover a bartender who has actually an detailed knowledge the the various locations that gluten have the right to hide (or much better yet, if you uncover a bartender who actually complies with the gluten-free diet themselves), friend may have actually trouble verifying the gluten-free standing of the assorted drink ingredients. 


A Word native Verywell

Most cheaper tequilas will certainly not contain gluten, even in map amounts. If girlfriend are particularly sensitive to gluten cross-contamination, stick to the higher quality 100% blue agave tequila—those tequila varieties need to be fully gluten free. If you"re ever before in doubt, it"s ideal to protect against the drink entirely.

See more: During The Encapsulation Process, What Occurs, Encapsulation


If tequila"s no for you, there room plenty of other varieties of alcoholic beverages you deserve to enjoy once you are following a gluten-free diet. You"ll find some varieties of gluten-free vodka, wine, beer, rum, and also even part whiskey and also gin.