employed an individual & family TAX, patent & permits WILLS & TRUSTS


*

*

relying on the quantity of a bad check in Texas, the criminal charge may be a misdemeanor or a felony. For this reason, the time framework a human being may be charged, or the statute of limitations, is 2 or 5 years, relying on which category the check falls into.

You are watching: Statute of limitations on a bad check


If a human obtains goods or solutions with the issuance of a examine which does not have enough funds to it is in covered, it is presumed the act to be intentional and may qualify as theft by check. This is likewise the situation if a inspect is attracted on an account the is no longer open. A human being may avoid penalty because that writing bad checks in Texas if he payment the holder of the inspect within 10 days of being informed of the delinquency. Theft by inspect does not use to check that room post-dated.


A misdemeanor is a form of criminal fee that is considered to it is in of a much less serious nature. Theft by inspect in Texas is classified together a misdemeanor if the amount misappropriated is much less than $1,500. A misdemeanor charge of theft by examine has a statute of limitation of 2 years native the day of the the supervisory board of the offense. Therefore, charges may be brought up to 2 years after a poor check is written.


Likewise, a felony is Texas is thought about to be a more serious crime. To be classified together a felony, the amount of the check must be over $1,500. Under the Texas code of Criminal Procedure, a felony fee of theft by inspect has a frosting of limitations of five years native the day of the offense. Read More: What renders a bad Check a Felony?


The purpose of the statute of limitation in criminal cases is to relieve a defendant the the load of do the efforts to protect a situation when evidence and memories that the occurrence might no much longer may attainable. For example, it may be more challenging for a human being to attest to their whereabouts from numerous years prior. For this reason, prosecutors are forced to lug their instances within a certain timeframe, other than in particular cases. In Texas, this exceptions incorporate murder, manslaughter, sexual assault, and specific crimes including children.


If the statute of limitation has actually passed, a defendant may argue the criminal charges might not be pursued. If the referee rules in the defendant’s favor, the charges will certainly be dismissed.

See more: The Difference Between Ionic And Molecular Compounds Vs, Molecular And Ionic Compounds


Leather Martin has actually been writing professionally since 2005. Her portfolio includes posts on legal, business and financial topics, and general contents for the Web and also print. Martin holds an advanced certification with the national Association of legitimate Professionals, and is a trained arbitrator for the Financial industry Regulatory Authority.


*

company employment an individual & family members TAX, licenses & patent WILLS & TRUSTS