However, there are only 32 NFL and also there are 50 states. 27 states around the country don’t have actually their own team. There are likewise 7 claims that have 2+ teams. 

If you are looking to acquire into the sport you should discover a neighborhood team to bet on at, if your state doesn’t have a regional team, you have the right to choose any type of team you like.

Continue analysis to uncover how plenty of teams each state has and also which state has the most teams.


States with no NFL teams 

There room 27 states that carry out not have any type of NFL teams: 

Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Connecticut², Delaware, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine², Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, new Hampshire², new Mexico, phibìc Dakota, south Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island², south Carolina¹, Utah, Vermont², Virginia, West Virginia, and also Wyoming. 

¹South Carolina is technically covered by the Carolina Panthers who are based in north Carolina, yet most NFL fans in the state pick to assistance the Atlanta Falcons.

²These claims are technically covered by the new England Patriots, who stand for all of new England.

States through 1 NFL team 

There room 16 says that have one NFL team: 

North Carolina, Arizona, Colorado, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Washington, Wisconsin, Tennessee, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nevada, and new York State*. 

*None of the groups with brand-new York in your name actually play in brand-new York State, castle both pat in new Jersey. 

States with 2 or more NFL teams

All the the adhering to 7 states have actually at least 2 NFL groups based in your state. Florida and California have 3 each.

These says tend to have actually 2+ teams for the exact same reason. In 1970 the NFL was created by combining 2 leagues the NFL and the AFL. These bigger states include an Old NFL and an AFL team. The only teams indigenous the exact same state that play in the same conference room teams native California, Texas, and Florida. 

Texas – 2 teams 


Tennessee Titans Houston Texans 

The Houston Texans room the newest team in the NFL, they join in 2002 and they beat in the AFC. The Titans likewise play in the AFC. 


Pennsylvania – 2 teams 


Philadelphia EaglesPittsburgh Steelers

The Eagles pat in the East department of the NFC, they have actually been division champions 14 times. They have actually been NFL champion 4 times. 

The Steelers pat in the North department of the AFC. They space 6 time Super bowl Champions, 8 time AFC champions, and 24 times department champions.

Ohio – 2 teams 


Cincinnati BengalsCleveland Browns

The Bengals pat in the North department of the AFC. They have been division champions 9 times, AFC champion twice, yet have never won the supervisor Bowl. 

The Browns beat in the North division of the NFC. They to be NFL champion 4 times prior to the Super bowl began, they have actually been conference champion 11 times, and division champions 12 times. 


Maryland – 2 teams


Baltimore RavensWashington football Team

The Washington football Team was formerly known together the Redskins, the surname was changed as it caused offense come the very first Nations areas in phibìc America. They play in the East department of the NFC. 

The Ravens play in the North department of the AFC. They last winner the Super key in 2012. 

New Jersey – 2 teams 


New York Giants New York Jets 

Neither that these groups plays in brand-new York (State). 

The Giants beat in the East department of the NFC. They are 8 time NFL champion (4 pre-Super Bowl, 4 post-Super Bowl). 

The jets play in the East department of the AFC. They to be NFL champions once before the Super bowl began. 


Florida – 3 teams 


Jacksonville JaguarsMiami DolphinsTampa just Buccaneers

Florida is just one of only two says to have actually 3 teams. 

The Jaguars play in the South department of the AFC. They have actually no Super key or Conference victories. They have only 3 department victories. 

The dolphin play in the East division of the AFC. They have actually 2 Super bowl championships, 5 conference championships, and also 13 divisional championships. 

The Buccaneers beat in the South division of the NFC. They have 2 Super bowl championships, 2 conference championships, and 6 divisional championships. They room the many recent winners that the Super key (2020). 


California – 3 teams 


Los Angeles RamsLos Angeles ChargersSan Francisco 49ers

The Rams pat in the West department of the NFC. They are 17-time division champions. 

The Chargers pat in the AFC West division.

You are watching: What states do not have a nfl team

See more: 10000 Diez Mil Pesos To Dollars, Convert Mexican Pesos (Mxn) To Us Dollars (Usd)

They have actually 1 NFL championship, 1 conference championship, and also 15 divisional championships. 


The 49ers beat in the West department of the AFC. They space 5 time Superbowl champions, 7 time conference champions, and 20 time division champions.